Revenge Of The Geeks

alexa chung wearing glasses

In the March 2011 edition of Vogue Hellas (greek version of Vogue), a whole page was devoted to makeup tricks when wearing spectacles and celebrities who wear reading glasses as “fashion accessories”.

Here’s the part were I laugh out loud…A LOT!

You see, I wear glasses since I was 9…and I was the first kid to wear glasses in my class, so it was odd…and bad. I got the label geek for lots and lots of years (lack of style didn’t help a lot too…God, why didn’t I read fashion magazines back then?). I was feeling so bad for wearing glasses that I persuaded my eye doctor to prescribe me contact lenses from the age of 16 (back then it was recommended to wear contact lenses at 18).

Getting older, although addicted to lenses, I came to see people who wear glasses (especially acetate frames) as cool! Yes, I do have an affinity for glass-wearers as I am one of them! :)

So, yeah, when I see Alexa Chung, or whoever else wear glasses…in public (gasp!), I want to go back to my 9 year old self and tell her that the day will come, when fashionable people would like to wear glasses, short-sighted or not!

Make Up Tips

Vogue also provided make up tips for glass-wearers provided by Mr. Freddy Kalobratsos. I’ll happily share them with you (combined with tips from my own experience):

1) Since the focus is on the glasses and not on the eyes, beware not to over-do it with eye shadows. Smoky eyes are a definite no-no. You should choose a bright eyeshadow. I totally recommend Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Luminous Eye Shadow in Glow Nude.

2) Using eye liner or eye pencil to contour the eye according to the glasses shape. I recommend either Korres Eye Pencil in Metallic Grey or Body Shop Black Eye-Liner.

3) Mr Kalobratsos suggests not wearing any blush because the glasses fall on the cheeks, but I say scrap that! If you need blush (let’s say you have light complexion like I do), you’ll wear blush, but make sure you the blush looks natural!

4) Mr Kalobratsos also suggest using a nude lipstick. Hmmm I don’t have an opinion on that, but why not try a bolder colour? (I think the suggestion of nude lipstick is about not shifting focus from the eyes and glasses).

Picture Source: Click on image to see source.

24 thoughts on “Revenge Of The Geeks

    • I think is is essential to pick the right frame that will flatter your face! (that’s why I swore off metallic frames…I didn’t like them at all!!!)

    • It took me a while, but I realised that blush has to be a beauty staple! It really adds to ones complexion!

  1. Pingback: Links á la Mode: The IFB Weekly Roundup | Independent Fashion Bloggers

  2. Pingback: Links a la Mode | made-to-travel

  3. I’ve been wearing glasses since I was in 3rd grade (I’ve always been too afraid to try contacts) and I would have to disagree with the nude lipstick. I absolutely adore lipstick (my favorite colors being red and hot pink!). However, I make-up for it by keeping my eyes simple – no eyeshadow, no eyeliner, just mascara. I think it’s all about choices: bold lips or bold eyes.

  4. Oh, my story is very much like yours. I hated wearing glasses as a kid and only recently started wearing glasses again. I never found them comfortable until recently. Since I had to start using reading glasses when I turned 40, I’ve gotten used to the sensation again. I literally just got my new (and super awesome) pair a few weeks ago. I like them so much I’ve even worn them in photos.

    I agree with your make-up tips, glasses already frame the eyes, a little eyeshadow goes a long way. I swear by a little blush, though. Our man Freddy may not share the same bias, but he may not be wearing blush at all anyway!

    Found you through LALM. Congrats on making the roundup!

    • I’m used to wearing contact lenses, but sometimes I switch to glasses. I bought a cool Dolce&Gabbana pair last year! I don’t think I’ll ever be brave to have laser eye surgery, so I’d better come to terms with glasses too!

  5. ~ * ♥ * ~

    I have been a glasses wearer since the age of thirteen, and although I had no sense of style {which had nothing to do with the glasses, just me!} I have come to incorporate them as part of my very vintage aesthetic.

    Personally, my number one glasses wearing tip is to choose a pair that suits your style and your face shape. When you do that, they will always look good on you and that’s what you want after all!

    xox,
    bonita of Depict This!
    ~ * ♥ * ~

    • I just with I was more picky when choosing glasses as a child! I now like rectangular plastic frames (and swore of metallic ones) and they do the trick for me :)

  6. Pingback: All Kinds of Everything

  7. Pingback: Free Honey in Links à la Mode — Free Honey

  8. Pingback: IFB Links a la Mode — thefashionatetraveller.com

  9. I’ve been wearing glasses since I was 8. I remember coming home crying because people used to call me four-eyes, feeling embarrassed because I couldn’t do any sports properly because my glasses would fall off our infringe on my freedom. Even now, comfortable as I am in glasses, I would never dream of going out with them on, whether they are fashionable or not. I wish glasses had been cool when I was young, it would have saved me a lot of tears and money!

    http://betweenmargins.blogspot.com

  10. I wore glasses until I was 15, and I never wore makeup with them because I thought it wouldn’t make a difference. I always thought, “Who would notice my eyes behind the frames?” Wish I had this post back then — my self-esteem would have been way higher! Thanks for writing it!
    MG
    grammarystyle.blogspot.com

  11. @ Bex…I can feel you, definitely! I wear contacts on 90% of my time! (Only at home I take them off). But sometimes my eyes “deny” wearing contacts, so I wear my glasses, but I surely feel better than 15 years ago!!

    @MG Back then I didn’t wear make up too (it took me a looong time to wear make up regularly). I just wish I had picked better glasses back then. It would make a whole lot of difference!

  12. I got my first pair of glasses last year, and while I wasn’t too keen on the idea at first, I do love having the option of wearing them. They add a certain edginess, I think.

    • Yes, I believe the right frame can add an edginess! One must be smart enough to incorporate glasses to one’s style :P

  13. Pingback: LINKS À LA MODE: WEEKLY ROUNDUP 03/10 |

  14. awesome! love these tips. I always wear blush, even on the days I wear my glasses. I don’t over do it, so it looks okay.

  15. Pingback: Links à la mode – La semaine de 10 mars 2011

Leave a Reply

